Remember Vedvardhan Sahni from the movie Tamasha? Meet his real life version- The one who left his job for the passion of StoryTelling and slowly making it big.

“Whatever I used to earn those days, I remember investing all of it in marketing the book. There were times I had to call my friends and borrow money to run facebook ads until my next salary could get credited. There were days where I’d skip on lunch to save money. That was a tough phase to be honest. I did have the option of asking money from my father, but I had to do this all by myself.”

 

I was never ever good at maths, and my father, always emphasised to improve on it as according to him, every exam that you face, it comes as an integral testing part. I tried my heart out but it’d never get into my head. Don’t know why. But somehow I got through it with passing marks  and dad used to be concerned about what I’d do with my life being weak at maths since it practically writes you off these days.

However, I had my own dream that I knew would never let me fail .It was never about numbers, but was a thing of heart and soul, of smile and tears, of rain and sun shine. It was story telling. I wanted to become a writer, and when I ended up writing my first book “Promise Me a Million Times” all agents in the country refused to take it up. They believed it would never sell not more than hundred copies even.

FOR WEB PURPOSE_Front

Also, no publisher was interested in reading the entire script and was rejected at the first phase itself. It hurt me like hell and I felt being pushed out of the only thing I thought I was good at, perhaps I wasn’t actually good at. It was just a blasphemy that I was living with. But then one day, I received an email from Srishti and my complete book had been asked for. After around twenty rejections, I couldn’t believe how that happened. It brought a smile to my face despite the fact that I still had every chance of being getting rejected again.

Meanwhile, I had already thought of an alternate plan that of self-publishing but when I got aware about all the costs involved and everything and having not that kind of money, it was clear to me that if they accept, I am through, or I would keep my stories to myself for life or consider it ten years later may be. Three months down the line, they decided to take it up.

I was excited and felt like all my dreams were about to come true, and then when I got to know the release date of my book, it felt like I had been tricked by destiny. Specifically because JK Rowling had returned with Harry Potter, Ravinder Singh’s latest was running through pre-orders, Sudeep Nagarkar was taking the market with storm with his latest, Devdutt Patnaik was going strong as usual, Savi Sharma had become a sensation already, and so had Ajay K Pandey. And then few days later as my book came out Preeti Shenoy, Chetan Bhagat, Durjoy Datta, Bhaavna Arora- all of them announced their books within a month.

I was laughing at myself. I mean when Shahrukh Khan, Salman Khan, Hrithik Roshan movie is going on, who would come see a nobody. Some way or the other, I don’t know how, I held on and looked up to the sky telling God that I’d fight and try. Rest would be his wish.

Whatever I used to earn those days, I remember investing all of it in marketing the book. There were times I had to call my friends and borrow money to run facebook ads until my next salary could get credited. There were days where I’d skip on lunch to save money. That was a tough phase to be honest. I did have the option of asking money from my father, but I had to do this all by myself.

Coming back to my journey, the very thought of fighting with eminent authors used to baffle me. Would people buy my book or my luck ends with the sun going down? Nevertheless, a sense of relief took over, as I don’t know how, but the book was rising in the charts. All the reviews that were coming in were brilliant. The idea of writing the book, seemed to be succeeding more than I expected.  And today, the novel having completed six months, I have sold more than 15000 copies- a feat I never thought of accomplishing. And I will be very honest when I say this, initially I had planned to sell 2000 copies in one year, thinking it would be a good start to my career because I never had much money to invest.

“Knowing that, yes I did leave everything for my passion; I don’t regret it any day. It’s the best thing I have done considering I can give all my time to what I wish for”

Today, I know my struggle will still continue. I am not an investment banker with a great salary package, or a celebrity, or someone with huge wealth to inherit that’d instantly push my career to another level. I am quite ordinary, yet my passion for my work will never die. Few factors can surely take me out of the market, I am never quitting on being happy. I am never stopping to write that’s for sure.


K

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Keshav Aneel is a young marketing professional, who chose to take the route of his heart, ending his brief stint in corporate. After completing his studies in Business Administration, he was utterly bored by a job that never let his creative side come into play. So he called it a day there, and immersed himself in doing what he always, one day, aspired to become. A University Gold Medallist in Debate and an affluent public speaker, he is a poet at heart and an avid traveller, in love with the blue-sky side of life.


BOOK

 

ABOUT THE BOOK

Believing life always gives us all a second chance is too bookish.Because sometimes, when we finally know our faults, the times acutely change from what they once used to be.

Like a couple of migratory birds, both Charlie and Edwin leave everything back in their village and settle for a new life in a big city. For Edwin, it was where he was going to chase his dreams, but for Charlie, it was just another place to be with his only friend. However, when he meets Aster, who was silently walking through instabilities of her own destiny, he was in for an
absolute unthoughtful phase of profoundness that was going to last forever……


GRAB YOUR COPY AT: 

http://amzn.to/29Aol94

Catch the author at:

https://www.facebook.com/KeshavAneel

 

 

Leave a Reply

