Book Review: Mrs Funnybones by Twinkle Khanna

Mrs funnybones
Book: Mrs Funnybones

Author: Twinkle Khanna

Plot: Good morning, it’s 6 a.m. and I am wide awake because the man of the house has decided that he needs to perform a series of complex manoeuvres that involve him balancing on his left elbow. When I fell asleep last night, there was a baby lying next to me. Her smelly diaper is still wedged on my head but aside from this rather damp clue, I can’t seem to find her anywhere. I could ask my mother-in-law if she has seen the baby, but she may just tell me that I need to fast on alternate Mondays, and God will deliver the baby back to me . . . Full of wit and delicious observations, Mrs Funnybones captures the life of the modern Indian woman—a woman who organizes dinner each evening, even as she goes to work all day, who runs her own life but has to listen to her Mummyji, who worries about her weight and the state of the country. Based on Twinkle Khanna’s super-hit column, Mrs Funnybones marks the debut of one of our funniest, most original voices.

My rating: 5/ 5 stars

Review

The book is snippets or more like collection of anecdotes wherein the author shows you the hilarious aspect of our everyday lives and especially the glimpse of a modern working woman with a baby, clutching on to her maybe with a little too much vigor. There are a whole lot of things that are touched upon humorously yet the impact of those words echoes much louder than had it been said with a serious tone.

Check out the full review on

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/li…

 

agnes-overjoyed-icon

Leave a Reply

