BOOK REVIEW: THE DEAD LIST BY JENNIFER L ARMENTROUT

BOOK: The  Dead List

 AUTHOR: Jennifer L Armentrout

GENRE: Mystery/Thriller, YA

FORMAT: e-book (epub)

RATING :        
Romance/Chemistry: 3/5
Thrill: 4/5
Action: 4/5
Pace: 4/5
Uniqueness: 2/5

COVER:

 Untitled.jpg

 

34097608-_uy200_

(Psst…..Which cover do you like the most? For me, it is the first one. I like it’s minimalism which makes it creepier and open to interpretation.)

REVIEW:

My Oh My…..

unnamed.gif

Let’s give the book credit for scoring high on the creep-o-meter.

The way many scenes were described creeped you out and gave you goosebumps.

The opening chapter itself gave you a feeling of unease and you get that uneasy feeling many times throughout the book.

This book was a roller coaster of intense emotions. The author puts our protagonist, Ella in a very real world. The characters, how they behaved, the backdrop of teens in a school etc sucks you right in. You come face to face with the cruelty of life’s social interactions.

The language was such that it painted a very vivid picture. You felt like you are right there, in your protagonist’s shoes, seeing the world as she sees it. The descriptive nature of many scenes was not at all hindering the enjoyment of the reading process, rather it was enhancing it. The words painted a very vivid picture in front of me so much so that the picture lingered long after I had shut my Kindle. Seriously, in many scenes I was like:

YwRKkFepL7ox.gif

The story of the protagonist, Ella scarred by a tragedy that took place in the past takes you through a roller coaster of intense emotions, starting with her almost getting murdered by ‘someone’ or was it ‘something’ (*wink*).

images-1

What follows her near escape is a string of murders that rocks her world, especially when she starts suspecting that it has something to do with the past, HER past.

First thing is first. The story is not unique, not in terms of plot anyways. We have seen what she wrote in form of Hollywood flicks like “I Know What You Did Last Summer”, “Tormented” and “Carrie”, based on Stephen King’s classic of the same name.

Carrie_Domestic_One-sheet.jpg

Tormented-2.jpg

But hey , before you write it off as just another teen-murdering-spree, you have to wait for it. The USP of the book is not the not-so-unique plot but how it was presented. The Ferris wheel of emotions you run through as you read it was its USP. For me, it was un-put-downable and I ended up finishing it in ONE NIGHT. Can you believe that?

giphy (3).gif

However, I had one problem and I guess it was more of me (And it doesn’t mean the book was bad). I did not like Ella, not one bit. Seeing her go about her life was like trying to hug a Cactus or cuddle with a Porcupine.

Yes, that painful. But I feel like that about almost all of Jennifer L Armentrouts female characters. They are so not empowering. They make you feel like having a Vagina automatically burns your brain cells and tongue too. I cringed everytime Ella could have used WIT but chose to dumb it down becauseeeeeeeeeeeeee…………………………………

Vagina.gif

But the book was ENGAGING, INTENSE and UN-PUT-DOWNABLE. Soooooo……………..

My conclusion:

To all the book chompers out there, I would say for this book:

 tumblr_inline_n9mgzhNpvA1s3wu9w (1).gif

 

AUTHORS CONNECT:

Website: http://www.jenniferarmentrout.com/
Twitter: JLArmentrout

HOLLYWOOD CONNECT:

Well, why not?? We did enjoy “I Know What you Did Last Summer” among others, right?

i-know-what-you-did-last-summer

Leave a Reply

