BOOK REVIEW: BLOOD SONG BY CAT ADAMS

AUTHOR: Cat Adams

GENRE: Urban Fantasy

RATING :
Romance/Chemistry: 1/5
Thrill: 1/5
Humor: 2/5
Action: 3.5/5
Pace: Turtle
Uniqueness: 3/5

COVER:

7242100

REVIEW:

LACKING IN EVERY ASPECT

My expectations were not at an all time high when I picked up ‘Blood Song’ by Cat Adams for a read. I had just wanted some adrenaline pumping action, a twist infested plot, and maybe some romance. (Ohhhkkk. Maybe I did have some expectations)

However the story of Celia Graves, a bodyguard with tough-as-nails attitude in a world where, supernatural creatures like Vampires, Mages and Werewolves all co-exist (though not without incidents), fails to impress.

Even when she gets turned (not into a vampire) but into something in between known as an ‘Abomination’ (No really THIS term WAS used), here is what we get to see:

Celia BEFORE she is bitten

Oh I am tough. I am THE sassy bitch that kick’s people’s ass. I have a job where I get to show all the above traits and earn money while doing it. So, I am a rich, tough bitch.

Celia AFTER she is bitten

Oh I am STILL tough BUT, now I am frustrated because I am an ‘Abomination’. And this pisses me off. And when I am pissed, I am super bitchy. I kick people’s ass some more and oh the fangs help elevate my tough-as-nails attitude.

OHKKK. WE GET IT.

You are a tough woman. Geez. You don’t have to rub it in our face in EVERY FREAKING chapter.

And don’t get me started on the unnecessary details in this book. I mean seriously why would I want to know what color, texture, make, the number of marks a particular desk in an office has (which is visited by Celia, our protagonist) when it is NOT RELATED either to the story or the scene coming next? Even if there is a fight scene coming up next and the protagonist is thrown against that very desk, all that information about the desk is NOT NEEDED.

Do away with the unnecessary information, especially when it has nothing to do with the story. It so affected the pace of the story (yeah the pace could have given a tortoise a run for its money). Many times I found myself skipping such unnecessary information. And it was boring as hell to go through it in the initial pages (when I wasn’t aware that this is how the book has been written).

The plot is not uncomplicated. Rather it is just too plain. There are not twists and there is not build up. I kept waiting for something, you know that BOOM moment but it NEVER came. The climax doesn’t surprise, quite predictable to be honest.

funny-sleeping-cats-1.jpgCAT Adams??? 😛

My conclusion:

 I am so NOT continuing with this series. ZILCH romance, simple and disappointing add-ons in the end to compensate for the lack of intelligent twists and NO character development assists this book’s WALK TO ITS ‘GRAVE’. Ciao Celia Graves. Who is the tough bitch now eh?

 AUTHORS CONNECT:

Cat Adams is actually not one author but two authors, Cathy Clamp and C.T Adams. Cat Adams is just a pen name for these two.

Website: http://www.ciecatrunpubs.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ctadamsauthor

 

HOLLYWOOD CONNECT:

Lord forbid!!!

god-forbid.gif

 

 

Leave a Reply

