Book Review : Tithe (Modern Faerie Tales #1) by Holly Black

Tithe_A_Modern_Faerie_Tale

Book: Tithe (Modern Faerie Tales #1)

Author: Holly Black

Plot: Sixteen-year-old Kaye is a modern nomad. Fierce and independent, she travels from city to city with her mother’s rock band until an ominous attack forces Kaye back to her childhood home. There, amid the industrial, blue-collar New Jersey backdrop, Kaye soon finds herself an unwilling pawn in an ancient power struggle between two rival faerie kingdoms – a struggle that could very well mean her death

Rating: 3/5

Review:

Meet our heroin – The Dope Princess

I would like to forward a request to anybody who has read the book to please tell me what exactly was happening in the book. Either I am getting really senile to understand books all of a sudden or the book indeed was one confusing journey

Tithe revolves around the central character, Kaye and when I say revolving I am saying that in every literal term available out there. I think this is the first time ever when I have seen a central character who seemed to be so doped that even I felt like passing out at times just by reading it.

There is no explanation for the things she is doing or saying either that or the author has failed to justify the explanation. Everything to me actually seemed to be happening inside a hazy trance.

I am a true fan of the curse worker series by Holly black but then just as in those books, the author has started the book as If it was some kind of a sequel run and we are already aware of the backgrounds. I am reading chapters and our doped heroin is mentioning and saying about things and characters that are still to come in the chapter and I have no other option but curb my urge to throw an iron ball at our central heroin to get her head straight

After a point everything in the book seems to be heading towards the same direction as any other paranormal books without making much sense. Suddenly everything seems to be sprinting ahead after somewhat wailing in dope for half of the book

The book stop making sense after a certain point of time because the central character is a hazy picture and then the author manages to run her narration with keeping half the stuff inside her head and half on the paper and by which I mean that the story mentions and behaves as if we had to read some kind of companion book before reading this. (I searched and there is none available). Narration and a dicey, shady central character is what occurred to me as the basic problem in the book

Curious-Minion-Icon

Leave a Reply

