Book Review: Bad Blood by Casey Kelleher

22780831Book: Bad Blood

Author: Casey Kelleher

Plot: In the underbelly of Soho’s organized crime ring, everyone knows that retired boxer Harry Woods is not one to mess with. And that goes double for his family.Harry has it all: the big house, the flashy cars, and an abundance of wealth. As much as money talks in his world, Harry knows deep down the only thing that really counts is family. Haunted by the sudden death of his wife, he’ll do anything to protect his children, but truth is a heavy burden and hidden secrets can unravel even the strongest of bonds….Without loyalty, family are bound together only by blood. Bad blood. (official synopsis)

Ratings: 3.5/5

Review:

Sopranos by the country side

If you ask me to define this book in one word, I would say Bad Blood is British Sopranos and I guess that can define the book without any further explanation.

The book is more of a family drama and no doubt the family in concern is well taken care of as each individual character has been given its relevant screen space and importance and you will be able to take away a strong image of all these characters after you read the book.

A good, tight weaved story forms the basis of this book and it does provide a good read but there are two points that kind of bothered me in the book

The book would have been perfect if I was seated on my buttocks and having tea in my rose garden with some cakes but I was not and because of which I was not a great fan of the language. Fine you would argue that the book was a British background fiction. Yes there is no argument there but when you are narrating a story, I think it is best to avoid colloquial and native slangs unless it is a very crucial aspect of the story or plays a significant role. The whole book is spread with colorful swear words and the irony was that even though I knew these were bad words, I didn’t know the meaning.

So I guess using absolutely native tongue in a fiction which is intended for a massive audience is definitely a negative point

The second thing that bothered me was the switching narration.  While the chapter is running through one person’s narration suddenly it changes and the whole setting and perspective is handed over to somebody else. This did create a break in the flow.

Apart from these little points I think the rest was a good piece of work. It was a good family drama something worth the stuff that you see on screen or women wage a remote war for.

The language is what bothered me. To fully comprehend you need to be aware of English swear words and phrases otherwise it is going to a bit hard just as it was for me but apart from that the book has a good plot and a set of characters that stand strong in the book.

despicable-me-2-Minion-icon-2

Leave a Reply

