Movie Review: Man of Steel

 

Movie: Man of Steel

Plot : Superman Movie

Rating: 4/5

Review:

No doubt that there are a lot of movies that has been made on superman. Then if you ask why you need to see Man of steel (which is another superman movie, in case you did not get that from the name) is because of the fact that the movie is not your typical version where superman rips off his shirt and fly as superman and kicks Luther (or for that matter any villain) rear. The movie is far from hero worship but in fact is more of a realistic version as to if a man different from us had to live among us, how the society will look at him.

Man of steel is not for those adrenaline and blood hungry action movie fans in fact this is more on a serious line that tells the story of a man that is born with a difference and struggles to become normal in this crazy world

The movie is good but if you are a superhero movie fan, then this may not be according to your liking for its different style of treatment but if you treat it as any other movie then you will be able to enjoy it a bit more. The story, characters and treatment of the movie is good but when it comes to action then I would like to say that it was like watching a video game and whenever it came to physical fights I did not enjoy the computerized version because I am one of those who needs to see a punch in its full authenticity rather than computer generated fast punches as you see in those video games. Apart from that the movie has a lot of computer graphics that is impressive and the narration of the story is really good.

Is Henry Cavill impressive as superman? Not as much as he makes the superman outfit and cape look good but he portrays the emotions really nice and impressively 

Is the movie watchable? Sure it’s a fun and emotional ride if you do not treat it as another superman movie

despicable-me-2-Minion-icon-2

4 thoughts on “Movie Review: Man of Steel

  1. The movie was ok, entertaining. As far as references to Christ there are some, but not any more than previous movies. Only Jesus is the Way, the Truth, and the LIfe…..John 14:6

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was a little disappointed by Man of Steel. The trailer was awesome, but I think the main problem is that the writer tried to take his template from the Dark Knight, and transfer it to Superman. Growing up, Christopher Reeve was ‘my’ Superman (yes I am that old) and it’s arguable that we can view those older movies as nostalgia pieces. But MoS was a step back for me. I get and I understand the tortured child scenes, but then again, Kel-El is supposed to be a God of some kind. As far as I know, Gods are omnipotent, and don’t have such issues. So whilst it was an interesting diversion, I didn’t agree with the direction the story took.

    Also Jor-El kept popping up like some anti-virus software, and ‘Miss Lane’? How does this hologram know Lois’ name?

    And why did the scriptwriters include lines like ‘I think he’s cute…’ arrgh I wanted to kill myself there and then, but I quite like myself so decided my anger would be directed at the scriptwriter put that line in.

    Perhaps they were trying to appeal to al demographics. Superman Returns was seen as little more than a chick-flick, and the debate about which is worse – part three or four, goes on. For me, the original 1978 movies remains the best. Superman may be a boy scout in the movie, but he offers hope. Batman was always the darker, more tortured soul. I give the scriptwriters for MoS credit for trying something different, but in trying to please every possible group, I think it failed.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow . I could not have put it more elegantly than you have and I completely agree with you. This movie is not for those who have worshipped super man. The treatment was different. The story was different. The characters were different. I feel that this cannot be categorised as a proper super man movie

    Like

Leave a Reply

